Insurance for a better world


The Geneva Association awards the prestigious Geneva Association Ernst Meyer Prize annually for university research work in the form of a doctoral thesis that makes a significant and original contribution to the study of risk and insurance economics.


  • The thesis should have been accepted by the PhD Committee during the 2020 calendar year. 
  • Submissions are possible in one of the following languages: English, French, Spanish, German.
  • The prize is CHF 5,000
  • The deadline for applications is 15 January 2021



Applications for the award should include all of the following:

  • an electronic version (PDF) of the thesis
  • an English language abstract of 1,000–1,200 words
  • two recommendations (written in English), each providing a review of the submitted work
  • curriculum vitae in English

    Applications should be addressed to

    The Judging Committee for the Geneva Association Ernst Meyer Prize is comprised of Professor Christophe Courbage, Professor Andreas Richter and Professor Richard Watt. A full list of past winners is available online.